Poem: The Foundation – by Imani-Amour

I am many people’s rock
like the base of a building,
more and more bricks piled on I,
foundation of others

So much weight, I can’t take
others problems placed before mine
always you, you, you but never I
more weight as I make
promises I won’t keep
I can not keep

For soon an emotional wrecking ball                                                                                                       life swings without fail
and I, foundation, crack
and break
and with a crash I fall
I let my bricks tumble down
I can’t help them off the ground

I’m already there
Dragged down, destroyed disaster.
We’re all better off on our own

Leave a Reply

