“Riptide” by Vance Joy-Song Analysis-Imani-Amour

The Writing Wave

Riptide by Vance Joy was released in late 2013 and its sweet ukulele chords and lyrics still reach through to me every time I hear it. The reason for this is because two summers ago, in the final months before I moved from my hometown, my close friend made a slideshow of pictures and used this song in the background. This song reminds me of her and I feel that this is why this song always takes me to such a deep place. I’ve always enjoyed the song solely for this reason; never taking the time to actually try and understand the song’s lyrics. Now I have finally analyzed them and am feeling inspired to share what I feel the lines mean.

Before I begin, the lyrics of the song can be found here: http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/vancejoy/riptide.html

A lyric video is also here if you’d like to hear it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iUI5uLysKaE

View original post 488 more words

Leave a Reply

