Poem: “Downfall of Desires” by Imani-Amour

Hello fellow writers! I wrote this poem quite a while back and I felt like sharing it today. Instead of wasting life wishing for more materialistic things, we must remember to treasure the people and the things that we already have. If we take them for granted, they just might slip away and it will be too late. Here is the poem:


“Downfall of Desires” by Imani-Amour

More, more, more
I wish on stars                                                                                                                                          and pray to God
for everything I don’t need
I want more, more
wonder at night                                                                                                                                             what it would be like
to have all my greatest desires

Then the pages turn, the clock strikes
Time moves on and drags me with it
and I realize                                                                                                                                                that somewhere in the midst of I want, I want, I want                                                                   was I have
Foolish desires devouring my mind and blinding me
So I could never see that what I wanted, all I ever needed                                                                   was beside me all along.


Copyright © 2016 by Imani-Amour
All rights reserved. This publication or any portion thereof
may not be reproduced or used in any manner whatsoever
without the express written permission of the publisher
except for the use of brief quotations in a written work.
Leave a Reply

